World Suicide Prevention Day: Top 15 Empowering Songs When You Need a Pick-Me-Up

In the spirit of World Suicide Prevention Day, I wanted to share with you some empowering songs, that are great for when you need a little pick-me-up. What I love most about music is how incredibly emotive it is, and these are the songs on my empowering playlist, that I really find can help give you that extra little kick of strength when you need it most.

1. Cher – You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me

The first time I watched Burlesque and heard this for the first time, I was in BITS. I think I actually had to stop the film so I could sob. It just spoke to me. Every single word of this song just absolutely soaked through my skin, into my heart and soul and resonated all around my body. It is my Number. 1 empowering song that is my go-to when I need strength, and is probably my most listened to song, as I listen to it on repeat when I need to. Cher is a mother-fucking Queen, and this song is just utter perfection for me – it still gives me goosebumps every time.

2. Helen Reddy – I am Woman

Okay, so it’s a Helen Reddy song, but I just love the Sex and the City version. 1) because I first heard it from the film, and 2) because it just means more to me watching my 4 fave girls sing it and stand up strong as besties together. The ultimate empowering female song, my mum and I can often be found singing this after a few bottles of wine. I am strong! I am invincible! I am woman!

3. Katie Perry – Firework

I just love this song. Katy is brilliant for empowering songs of self-worth, and this is just so fun and uplifting, I can’t listen to it without my mood being lifted. I always remember one NYE when it was quite new, and I’d been down and was feeling crappy in all the dresses I wanted to wear, and my stepmum said to me ‘wear the sparkly pink one; be a firework.’ When I question how I look when I’m getting ready to go out, or start to feel shy or self conscious about doing something, I think of Becky’s words, and this song, and remind myself to be a firework.

4. Rachel Platten – Fight Song

This song is just everywhere at the moment, and I bloody well love it. Such a great, catchy beat which lifts you up instantly, matched with such brilliantly strong lyrics. This definitely makes the cut for my pick-me-up playlist.

5. P!nk – F*ckin Perfect

Pink is another queen of empowering feminism and I have been a fan of hers for her entire career. F*cking Perfect is another one where the first time I heard it, I just had to stop and go ‘wow!’. It’s such a beautiful and heartfelt song and it is SO DAMN TRUE to every single person out there.

6. Christina Aguilera – Beautiful

One of the original feel good songs, what I love so much about this is that the whole point is that EVERY SINGLE PERSON is beautiful JUST AS THEY ARE. I hate these modern “empowering” songs like All About That Bass which shame another body type etc in the mean time. Not cool. Christina absolutely cracked it with this simple and beautiful song.

7. Miley Cyrus – The Climb

So I freaking love The Hannah Montana Movie and I’m not ashamed to say it. All dem feels, yo! This song is so beautiful, and comes from such a heartfelt moment in the film. The lyrics are so meaningful, and always resonate with me every time I listen to it.

8. Taylor Swift – Shake It Off

Taylor Swift, as many of you will know, is the love of my freaking life. I worship her, so there’s no way Tay Tay wasn’t gonna be on my ultimate feel-good playlist. Tbh, there’s several songs of hers I could put on this list, but Shake It Off is the ultimate ‘screw the haters’ jam and I simply love it. I defy you to listen to it and not feel your self-esteem raise as you let go of all the fucks you give about what anyone thinks of you.

9. Katy Perry – Roar

Another Katy song but she nails it again with this one. All about not being afraid to be who you are and be proud of it! Fave line: I went from zero, to my own hero. Yes, Katy! More of us should be our own hero.

10. Demi Lovato – Skyscraper

Demi is bloody brilliant. I love her. She’s so strong and inspiring. This song is a massive two fingers up to all the assholes who try and pull you down. You are better than them, you are stronger than them, and no matter how they try to pull you down you will come back bigger and better than ever before.

11. Kelly Clarkson – Stronger

For when you need to remember how freaking awesome you are, and that no one else gets an input about you, and your strength. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!

12. Idina Menzel (Frozen) – Let It Go

You cannot put together a post of empowering feel-good songs without including the most bad ass damn disney tune ever. From the first time I watched this film, I instantly recognised the similarity of Elsa with her powers to someone with depression – the way she was made to conceal it, and this moment of finally letting it go just makes my heart warm. (Okay so shutting herself off in the ice castle was NOT the best solution, but this moment was still damn awesome!!)

13. Lady Gaga – Born This Way

Gaga, queen of the bizarro, is the ultimate example for living your life the way you want, and not giving two fucks what anyone else thinks of you. Be wild, be crazy, be unique – be you. You are beautiful exactly the way you were born.

13. P!nk – Raise Your Glass

For all the misfits, the losers and the freaks. For everyone who has ever felt like they were the oddball, out of their depth or just didn’t quite fit in. This is for you.

14. Whitney Houston – Greatest Love of All

Supreme ruler of the power ballads, Whitney’s Greatest Love of All teaches us the important of loving yourself, livign by your own values, and finding strength from within yourself.

15. Titanium – David Guetta ft Sia

Another modern fave of mine about not letting other people bring you down. There are a fair few different versions – the acoustic version with Sia is particularly beautiful – but the awesome beat of this is definitely best for when you need an instant pick-me-up.

I hope these manage to lift your mood and remind you how freaking AWESOME you are! I’d love to hear from you too – what are your favourite empowering songs?

Lots of love xxx

6 thoughts on “World Suicide Prevention Day: Top 15 Empowering Songs When You Need a Pick-Me-Up

Leave a Reply

