Book Review: Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm, by Rebecca Raisin

Secrets…we all have them.

co3vPyX5.jpg-small

Clay’s inheritance of Maple Syrup Farm came at the perfect time. Leaving city life behind he headed for maple-tree surrounded Ashford, Connecticut. Getting the farm in working order again might be back breaking work – but it seems to be the only way for Clay to finally forget about the girl who once broke his heart…

Lucy’s had enough of rules and the stress of planning her life down to the very last detail. Looking for an adventure she stumbles upon Maple Syrup Farm and its gorgeously gruff owner. This could be the perfect place to hide out…!

But the tranquillity and warmth of Maple Tree Farm is enough to heal even the most battered of hearts. There are very few problems in life that can’t be cheered up by maple syrup!

The new standalone novel from bestselling author of the Gingerbread Cafe trilogy and The Bookshop on the Corner, Rebecca Raisin.

***

I absolutely loved Rebecca’s Gingerbread Cafe books, devouring three in one day, so to say I was a little excited about the release of Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm would be a slight understatement!

Within the first few pages, this book had wound its way firmly around my heart, and I knew it was going to be wonderful. I immediately adored Lucy, who works so hard to keep things afloat for her and her sick mum, and their relationship was instantly touching. Not wanting Lucy to miss out on life due to caring for her, her mum makes her promise to take one year away for herself, and Lucy reluctantly agrees.

Soon I found myself squealing aloud as I was reconnected to the residents of Ashford, where Lucy turns up, who feel like sweet old friends that I’ve dearly missed! I’ll make this point now: this book is a perfectly wonderful standalone novel, BUT, I would so recommend reading the others first, that way there’s no spoilers from this one as to how things turn out etc and it all just builds so wonderfully! (They’re only short and sweet and lovely and you can totally devour them in a day anyways!)

Lucy manages to swindle her way into working as a farmer’s assistant for Clay, who’s recently inherited the Maple Syrup Farm. He’s reluctant, but Lucy proves herself a true grafter, and he needs the help. It doesn’t take long for sparks to fly, but Clay is moody, closed-off and often damn rude, and it was a joy to watch their interactions with each other, as well as to discover the secrets hidden at the maple syrup farm.

Honestly, Rebecca’s stories are just like a huge, warm hug, gently enticing you into the heart of Ashford life and making you feel like you belong there. The whole community is just a dream, from CeeCee and Lil to Sarah and Missy, I just adore each of them (not to mention all the swoony men they seem to have around!).

I really could not have loved this more, and I know I am gushing but I am a total Rebecca Raisin fangirl and I’m not afraid to admit it. She has a way of writing which is just so sweet and beautiful, but so at ease – the only negative comment I could make is that it makes me sad that I can’t actually live in Ashford, and that the characters are not actually my friends!

This book is an absolute joy from start to finish, and I really must implore you to read it! An absolute no-brainer in giving Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm five huge stars.

Rating: star-ratingstar-ratingstar-ratingstar-ratingstar-rating

Release date: 17 July 2015
Publisher: Carina UK
Amazon UK
Amazon US
Goodreads

Leave a Reply

