Book Review: Kate and Alf, by Carrie Stone

Kate loves Alf. And Alf loves Kate… Doesn’t he?kate and alf

Kate can’t wait for her long-term boyfriend Alf to propose. So he might be a bit of a control freak who’s obsessed with his career … and he also seems to have conveniently forgotten their two-year plan to get married, buy a bigger house and have children. But Kate’s sure that ring will be on her finger soon.

When her thirty-second birthday ends in humiliating, proposal-less disaster, even Kate is left wondering if Alf really is The One. Then Alf’s friend, Marcus, needs a place to stay. With his dark eyes, easygoing manner and kind concern for Kate, Marcus is everything Alf is not – and it’s not long before Kate begins to wonder if there’s more to life than diamonds.

***

It was lust and first sight when I saw this book – a gorgeous cover and an intriguing blurb sold me and I was thrilled when I saw it on Netgalley, and even more so when I was approved for a review copy! (Thanks HarperImpulse!)

Kate & Alf was a sweet and easy story, which would make for a nice weekend read. Unfortunately, I was blown away more by the cover than the book (though the cover set a particularly high bar!), but it was nice enough.

One thing I couldn’t get my head around was Alf. I know he wasn’t written to be a particularly likeable character, but he was so lacking in redeemable features that I couldn’t understand at all what Kate saw in him, except to perhaps long for what I can only assume was a much nicer Alf when they were first together.

I did really like Kate, but her anxiety over such a dislikeable man made it hard to fully connect. The story was some what redeemed by other characters like Megan, Viv and Lil – the latter two in particular I truly adored.

The ending was a very sweet twist, though one I had considered from early on. I must point out I did truly enjoy Carrie’s writing, and will still look to read future releases, as I think there is a lot of potential there. As I said, a sweet and easy read, even if it was a bit of an unremarkable one.

Rating: star-ratingstar-ratingstar-ratingpink-half-star-rating

Release date: 05 February 2015
Publisher: HarperImpulse
Amazon UK
Amazon US
Goodreads

Leave a Reply

