Book Review: Humbugs & Heartstrings, by Catherine Ferguson

Two ex-friends. One Christmas to remember …

humbugs

Bobbie’s boss Carol is a real misery-guts, dedicated to making the lives of everyone around her unhappy in pursuit of every last penny. What makes it worse is that the two women have history: once they were best friends.

When handsome hotelier Charlie steps into the frame the two women go to battle as one sees a romantic future ahead and the other a possible lifeboat for her business. With wonderful warmth and humour, and the odd mince pie fight, the women are forced to confront their shared past, the turbulent present and, most importantly, the potential of the future.

This is a tale about love and friendships, complete with a sprinkling of Christmas magic. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Lucy Diamond.

***

Humbugs & Heartstrings is Catherine Ferguson’s debut novel, and damn, she’s off to a good start. The story is loosely based on A Christmas Carol.

Bobbie and Carol used to be thick as thieves, but Carol suddenly turned cold an unyielding, a particularly difficult situation when Bobbie ends up coming to work for her at her cleaning company. From this alone, you know it’s going to be a juicy plot. Best friends turned sour, forced to work for each other? Yeah, that’s gonna equal drama.

Throw in a dreamy guy the girls both have their eyes on, and they’re ready for all hell to break loose. Well, for an extremely bitchy food-fight to break loose, at least.

The book is filled with fantastic characters; I absolutely adored Bobbie, and Charlie was just a darling. The narrative in Bobbie’s voice was easy and friendly, making it a joy to read. Through in a slightly skitzy mother, a sick young brother and some fun colleagues, and you’ve got a pretty awesome cast.

The plot is just fabulous and at moments, down-right hilarious. A wonderful debut, and I look forward to reading more from Catherine Ferguson in the future.

Rating: girl penguingirl penguingirl penguingirl penguingirl penguin

Release date: 02 October 2014
Publisher: Maze
Amazon UK
Amazon US
Goodreads

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s