Book Review: Lily Does LA, by Nicola Doherty

The second instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels.

Lily Does LA

Firstly, thanks to Headline Publishing, for approving me for a review copy of Lily Does LA on Net Galley.

Lily is an actress. At least, that’s what she tells people, even though she’s currently working in a call centre and her last big part was an ad for Sofa Warehouse. So when she’s invited to her cousin Alice’s wedding in LA, it’s a dream come true.
Alice’s fiancé Sam is actually a Hollywood agent; how can Lily fail to get talent-spotted? There’s only one problem; not only is Lily banned from mentioning acting, parts or producers to Sam, she’s expected to spend the entire week doing wedding-related prep (read: chores) with Sam’s boring groomsman Jesse. But Lily firmly believes that rules were made to be broken …

I loved Poppy Does Paris, so I was really looking forward to reading Book 2 in the Girls on Tour Series.

Novellas seem to be increasingly popular recently, and I’ve never really read many before, always opting for a bit of a meatier story that I can really sink my teeth into. However, I also do like the idea of having a book that’ll fit perfectly in an hour or two reading slot, so I’ve been open to the new experience.

I think my main reservations have always been the worry that either, a) I’m not going to have enough time to really connect with the book/characters, or b) I’ll really start loving it/them and then it’s over too soon.

Unfortunately, I found Lily Does LA fell into the first category a bit for me. It was a really cute story, light-hearted and easy reading, I just didn’t feel like I connected to it very much, or more specifically to Lily. She was cute and funny, and I admired her efforts for her cousins wedding, even if she also went off on tangents pursuing her own goals, but I just didn’t really feel much of a connection, which was a shame. Again, I think this is largely down to the basis of it being a novella. You did have some back-story for Lily, and it was touching, but…I can’t really explain it. I usually get attached to characters easily, and I just didn’t as much this time.

It was still a really nice bit of light reading, that I managed in one session before bed, and I do recommend it if you’ve got a couple of hours spare. I’m giving it 3.5 stars, and will definitely be continuing to read the Girls On Tour Series.

Rating: star-ratingstar-ratingstar-ratingpink-half-star-rating

The next instalment of the Girls On Tour series, Maggie Does Meribel, is out on the 4th of December.

Buy: Lily Does LA

Pre-order: Maggie Does Meribel

Leave a Reply

