Behind the Book: An Interview with Sue Watson

I am absolutely over the moon to be welcoming the fabulous Sue Watson to The Book Nook today!

007 (2)

Love, Lies and Lemon cake was released on June 27th this year. For anyone who hasn’t read my review yet, – which you really should, it’s here! – I LOVED this book. It’s the most a book has made me truly laugh in a long time, as well as being a truly heart-warming story, (plus a very swoony hero, but we’ll get back to him later!)

LOVE LIES AND LEMON CAKELLLCLove, Lies and Lemon Cake is available on both Kindle and Paperback format – though, let’s be honest, with such a gorgeous cover I think it’s definitely one to be displayed proud on the bookshelf!

  • Like so many, I love getting to know about the person behind the books we love! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Well, I’m 25, ravishing, with long blonde hair and I weigh about 8 stone – in my dreams! In reality I’m a wife and mum on the wrong side of forty who gave up her career in TV to stay home and write books. I struggle with my weight, my willpower and my age and when I should be writing – I’m eating and when I should be working out – I’m eating on the sofa in front of the TV! I also have a 15 year old daughter who considers me to be the most embarrassing person in the world… even before her father!

  • Talking of embarrassing, Faye, the main character in Love, Lies and Lemon Cake, has a terrible a habit of not knowing when to stop talking, which makes for some cringe-worthy (though hilarious!) moments – is this based on something you or someone you know have a habit of doing?

Yes, I often saying wrong/inappropriate things under pressure then try to make it right – which inevitably makes it worse! Faye was inspired by an incident with my friend Jan, who’s a lawyer. She was having a very important legal meeting with a barrister who apologised for being anal in his approach. Her response; ‘there’s nothing wrong with anal,’ apparently caused some raised eyebrows, she tried to point out what she didn’t mean…and Faye was born! Be careful what you say to a writer – you will be immortalised in print.

  • With both Love, Lies and Lemon Cake and your first novel Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes, your love of baking is very clear. What’s your favourite thing to bake?

I wish I could tell you I have a real showstopper that is complicated and intricately iced that I bake for special occasions…but sadly I don’t. I’m a lazy baker and bake what I would like to eat – and that often means that I want it in my mouth within the hour! I love making cupcakes, my favourites are rose, coffee and chocolate – and my favourite ‘big’ cake is a simple Victoria sponge. I fill the sponge with lemon curd and fresh cream or strawberries and fresh cream – lemon curd counts as one of your ‘five a day,’ right?

Yes. Yes, it does 😉

????????????????????????????    DSCF5842

  • I love Faye’s ‘Living List’ as opposed to a ‘Bucket List’ in Love, Lies and Lemon Cake – what would be on your Living List?

Dan, the hunky Aussie in the book would be top of the list – just don’t tell my husband! I think my dreams are similar to Faye’s – I am considering a tattoo, but keep telling myself if I don’t lose weight a tattoo on my arm may be less ‘wild sexy woman’ and more ‘scary wrestler woman.’ So my tattoo is on ice at the moment.

Other things on my list are; To see Australia and visit Nepal to watch the Annapurna sunrise in the Himalayas. I would love afternoon tea at The Wolsey, a White Lady cocktail in Bar High Five in Tokyo and Dinner at the Art Deco New York restaurant Eleven Madison Park.

It’s also been a long held dream to lose 2 stone – but after all that food I may move weight loss down the list a little – after all life’s too short to diet!

  • I must admit, I was totally crushing on Dan through the whole of Love, Lies and Lemon Cake – he’s such a dreamboat! Who would be your dream casting for Dan and Faye if the book was made into a movie?

I have a shameless, long felt want for Ryan Gosling and I know, if ever he met me he would feel the same – but Eva Mendez just keeps getting in the way of our love. Therefore, I decided to create a godlike man in Ryan’s image so if ever the book is made into a film my cunning plan is to turn up on set and lure him away. Ryan is an actor who likes a challenge, so I gave him an Australian accent to work on… I try not to think about him too much, because like Faye I tend to overheat!

Ryan GoslingI like the way you think! (Plus any excuse for a little lust-worthy Ryan picture!)

  • You mentioned a career in TV, with what sounds like a very busy life before you became a writer, what was it that made you decide to change? Had you always wanted to be a writer?

When I was 9 my English teacher used to say ‘will you send me a copy of your first book?’ I found this quite embarrassing as the rest of my classmates would roll their eyes or just laugh. But I think his enthusiasm for my writing definitely planted a seed and years later I became a journalist. I then moved into TV and would sit in edit suites and on shoots writing scenes in my head. I daydreamed about how wonderful it would be, just me, a laptop and my imagination. I eventually plucked up the courage to go for it and gave up a career and a salary to write. Being an author isn’t about making money so compromises have had to be made, but it’s worth it to be able to just sit at my desk all day, eat cake – and make stuff up.

  • I’ve read you treated yourself to a lovely pink laptop before beginning your first novel, do you have a strict writing routine? Can you describe your perfect writing conditions?

I still have the pink laptop! But sadly I don’t have many ‘perfect writing days,’ and it’s my own fault because I’m so easily distracted. If it’s not Jeremy Kyle it’s Loose Women or friends calling me and demanding I go for lunch or dragging me to coffee shops (which of course, I hate – all that cake! Ew!)
I spend my days on FB and Twitter, check emails, check Jeremy Kyle’s DNA results then it’s the same over and over again! Somewhere in the loop I do write a book – but it’s a constant struggle with my proper author self and the naughty cake-eating-no-will-power-Jeremy-Kyle-loving me.

  • Anything you can tell us about what to expect next from you?

In between DNA tests (on TV) and menopausal madness (on TV and off) I am conjuring up a Christmas book. My lovely publisher Bookouture are planning to release it in late October – if I can ever get off Twitter long enough to finish it!

  • I absolutely loved reading your book, but what do you like to read? What’s your favourite book?

You might be surprised to learn that I don’t read books in my own genre. I don’t want to be influenced while I’m writing and I also don’t want to be blown away by some of the wonderful writing out there and just feel rubbish about my own. I just LOVE psychological thrillers and crime books, my favourites are Tamar Cohen, Helen Fitzgerald and Mel Sherratt among others. I also enjoy books about other cultures and great journeys and I’m currently reading ‘The Forgotten Daughter’ by Renita D’Silva which has completely transported me to India. I’ve never been, yet I feel like I’m there – the story itself is riveting, but the descriptions, the sounds and smells are just so evocative – it’s a truly stunning book.

Thank you so much for having me on the blog!

Thank you so much for joining me, Sue, it’s been a pleasure getting to know you and I can’t wait to read your Christmas book!

My review of Love, Lies and Lemon Cake

Love, Lies and Lemon Cake on Amazon

Love, Lies and Lemon Cake on Goodreads

Signature 14 ja2

7 thoughts on “Behind the Book: An Interview with Sue Watson

  1. I laughed out loud while reading this interview post! I enjoyed her novel ‘Love, Lies and Lemon Cake’. Sue is great about interacting with her readers, especially on twitter @suewatsonwriter and I loved getting a closer look at who she is as a person and what inspires her to write!

    Like

    • I’m so pleased you enjoyed the post! She really is fab, isn’t she? It’s my first author interview I’ve done on this blog, but after chatting to her a few times on twitter I knew I just had to ask her for one! 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve never done an author interview and wouldn’t even know the first thing about it, but she was definitely a great choice for your first one! Did you get to meet her in person or was it a phone interview? I’m curious as to how that type of thing works these days with all the technology we have available.

        Like

      • Haha, I know what you mean! Crazy how accessible everything is these days! We did it via email 🙂 and thanks, I think so too. The book & Sue herself both just perfectly encapsulate my love for reading and writers! Xx

        Like

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Love, Lies and Lemon Cake, by Sue Watson | Paris Baker's Book Nook

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake, by Sue Watson | Paris Baker's Book Nook

Leave a Reply

