It’s Nearly Time…

Hey guys, how are you all?

Hope you’re missing me while I’m away! Hopefully as you read this, I’ll be lying on a sun-lounger, book in one hand and cocktail in the other in the glorious Egyptian sunshine, but I’ll be thinking of you guys too!

It’s only a couple of days until I’m back, so I wanted to remind you to enter my With Love From Paris Giveaway if you haven’t already! And even if you have, you can earn some extra entries by tweeting about it.

I get back on October 1st, and will be announcing the winner when I return, so make sure you get your entries in for a chance to win a gorgeous Parisian Prize Bundle!

Enter my With Love From Paris Giveaway here.

Giveaway1
Good luck!

Advertisements

Book Releases: 25th September 2014

Today is an exciting day for books with 3 particular new releases!

1. The Rosie Effect, by Graeme Simsion.

This Book is AMAZING. Buy it. Now. You can read my review here. It’s the sequel to the also amazing The Rosie Project. If you haven’t read that, then I simply insist you do that at your earliest convenience.
The Rosie Effect Graeme Simsion

 

2. Shopaholic to the Stars, by Sophie Kinsella.

I don’t think I really need to say more on this one. I am SO EXCITED to read this. I actually will have a copy sat on my doormat at home right now waiting for me thanks to Random House, but I’m in Egypt. Needless to say, it’ll be the first thing I read when I get back!Shopaholic to the Stars

 

3. Lily Does LA, by Nicola Doherty

The second installation in the Girls On Tour Series. Novellas are increasingly popular for chick lit fans and though I preferred the first book in this series, I still enjoyed this one too. You can read my review here.

Lily Does LA

Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines, by John Green

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

An Abundance of Katherines John Green

John Green has recently taken the world by storm with his beautiful books, aided by the making of The Fault In Our Stars into this years blockbuster film. I read TFIOS a while ago and instantly fell in love with Green’s writing. there’s such earnest and honesty to the characters and the story. Needless to say, the story broke my heart ripped my heart clear out my chest. Earlier this year, I read Looking For Alaska, and found myself in a similar situation of torment and heartbreak. An Abundance of Katherines was my third John Green instalment.
Continue reading

Book Review: The Rosie Effect, by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Effect is the charming and hilarious sequel to Graeme Simsion’s bestselling debut novel The Rosie Project.

The Rosie Effect Graeme Simsion

With the Wife Project complete, Don settles into a new job and married life in New York. But it’s not long before certain events are taken out of his control and it’s time to embark on a new project . . .

As Don tries to get to grips with the requirements of starting a family, his unusual research style gets him into trouble. To make matters worse, Don has invited his closest friend to stay with them, but Gene is not exactly the best model for marital happiness. As Don’s life with Rosie continues to be unpredictable, he needs to remember that emotional support is just as important as practical expertise.

You may have recently seen my review for The Rosie Project, for which this book is the sequel. I absolutely adored the first book, so while I couldn’t wait to get started on this one, I did have that slight reservation we readers get of ‘what if it’s not as good?’

Continue reading

Book Review: Lily Does LA, by Nicola Doherty

The second instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart… novels.

Lily Does LA

Firstly, thanks to Headline Publishing, for approving me for a review copy of Lily Does LA on Net Galley.

Lily is an actress. At least, that’s what she tells people, even though she’s currently working in a call centre and her last big part was an ad for Sofa Warehouse. So when she’s invited to her cousin Alice’s wedding in LA, it’s a dream come true.
Alice’s fiancé Sam is actually a Hollywood agent; how can Lily fail to get talent-spotted? There’s only one problem; not only is Lily banned from mentioning acting, parts or producers to Sam, she’s expected to spend the entire week doing wedding-related prep (read: chores) with Sam’s boring groomsman Jesse. But Lily firmly believes that rules were made to be broken …

I loved Poppy Does Paris, so I was really looking forward to reading Book 2 in the Girls on Tour Series.
Continue reading

Book Review: The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion

An international sensation, this hilarious, feel-good novel is narrated by an oddly charming and socially challenged genetics professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love.

The Rosie Project Graeme Simsion

Don Tillman, professor of genetics, has never been on a second date. He is a man who can count all his friends on the fingers of one hand, whose lifelong difficulty with social rituals has convinced him that he is simply not wired for romance. So when an acquaintance informs him that he would make a “wonderful” husband, his first reaction is shock. Yet he must concede to the statistical probability that there is someone for everyone, and he embarks upon The Wife Project. In the orderly, evidence-based manner with which he approaches all things, Don sets out to find the perfect partner. She will be punctual and logical—most definitely not a barmaid, a smoker, a drinker, or a late-arriver.

Yet Rosie Jarman is all these things. She is also beguiling, fiery, intelligent—and on a quest of her own. She is looking for her biological father, a search that a certain DNA expert might be able to help her with. Don’s Wife Project takes a back burner to the Father Project and an unlikely relationship blooms, forcing the scientifically minded geneticist to confront the spontaneous whirlwind that is Rosie—and the realization that love is not always what looks good on paper.

I’ve seen a lot about The Rosie Project, but had never got round to reading it. When I saw The Rosie Effect was available on NetGalley, I swiftly requested it and immediately bought The Rosie Project in preparation. I’m so pleased I did.

Continue reading