Oh Captain, my Captain!

Robin Williams in Hook

Robin Williams in Hook

I, like so many others, am absolutely devastated to have awoken to the news of Robin Williams death, suspected by suicide.

I find it so sad that a man who brought happiness to the life of so many others, was unable to find it himself.

Having experienced depression first hand, I understand the cold, hard grip it can have under the surface, that most people will never see. And, though I should know better, should know how you can never tell, how well we can wear a mask and hide the pain, I am still shocked down to my very core how tight a hold such a cruel illness can have had on such a beautiful, talented and funny soul. I know Williams’ battle with depression is not new information, but this is different. To learn he arrived at a point where he saw no way back, nor any way forward, to a point where he had lost every shred of hope in the world, is still a truly shocking and shattering revelation.

I have grown up loving this man – he shaped my childhood with films such as Aladdin, Mrs Doubtfire, Jumanji and Flubber, he enlightened me in my teens through Patch Adams, Good Morning, Vietnam, and – one of my favourite ever films – Dead Poet’s Society, and he continues to inspire and move me through all of his works, through my life as an adult.

The world lost a truly bright and beautiful soul yesterday, and I only wish he could have seen the wonder in himself that we across the world all see – not just see, not just notice, but see it radiate, screaming out at us, refusing to go unnoticed.

He has touched the hearts, minds and souls of so many people, he truly made his dent in the world, before leaving all to soon.

I only hope he is truly at peace, and his pain has finally ended.

Bangarang, Peter. Rest in Peace.

XXX

I would also like to take this chance to urge anyone suffering with depression, anxiety or any other mental health issues to please, please, talk to some one. You don’t have to suffer a lone.

Samaritans UK: 08457 90 90 90

Samaritans ROI: 116 123

Leave a Reply

